Monday, February 10, 2014

Astrology and Healing: Chakra and Planetary Alignments

Most weekends I organise an Interactive Reading on my Facebook Page. This week I used Astrology Cards for each of the Chakras. We can stimulate our Chakras by connecting with their corresponding planet in meditation. I've been doing it with the Solar Plexus and Jupiter, as they both relate to self-confidence, belief and willingness to take flight. Works like a charm!

Choose one of the following Chakras and scroll down to read more! 


Base Chakra (Vitality) 

Located at the base of the spine, the Root Chakra connects us with the Earth. It regulates the flow of energy at our disposal for physical and material pursuits. We can turn to the planet Mars for help healing this bright red Chakra. Mars gets a bad rap as the aggressor in the zodiac but it can also help us with physical endurance, energy, vitality and resilience. I personally like to connect with Mother Earth and with Mars when I feel I am lacking in any of these (see meditation for details). Of course, we can also stimulate our Root Chakra by eating healthier, fresher foods that give us energy.

Sacral Chakra (Passion)

The Sacral Chakra relates to our appetite for life, creativity and sexuality. It is located just under the belly button in your abdomen. When this Chakra is out of balance we can experience things like emotional eating, impulse control problems and even addictive behavior. At the School of Intuition & Healing we learned that the Sacral Chakra is energetically paired with the Throat Chakra, providing an outlet for our feelings. This is why I associate the Sacral Chakra with Mercury, the planet of self-expression and with Venus, the planet of Love. It’s also worth mentioning that we can work with the Sacral and Throat Chakras in tandem if we want to heal ourselves and speak our truth.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Personal Power):

This bright yellow Chakra reminds me of the beauty we see in the world, especially when we learn to see our individuality as an advantage in life. The Solar Plexus relates to our sense of self and confidence, two aspects that are reflected by Jupiter and by the Sun. Work with both of these planets to give your energy a boost, raising your self-esteem in the process. Jupiter magnifies what we think about, so keep your heart and mind positive. The Solar Plexus and Brow Chakra’s energies play off each other, and by keeping our outlook sunny we are better able to work with our personal power. 

It is also easy to stimulate the Solar Plexus Chakra by connecting with the energy of the Sun and with yellow flowers. We can do this by visualizing our personal power center blooming like a flower, or even by surrounding our personal space with yellow flowers and sunstone crystals. 

Heart Chakra (Love)

The Heart Chakra is about love and healing. This can include love for ourselves, for others, for the planet and for all life forms. When we focus on love, compassion follows naturally, as it is hard to judge someone harshly if we focus on the good in them. It also makes it easier to feel empathy. Stimulate your Heart Chakra by meditating on Venus, the planet of Love and Beauty. Work with Venus to enhance your love of life. Unconditional love is the most powerful healer out there, especially if it's directed at yourself! 

Throat Chakra (Truth):

This Chakra is about communication: listening, speaking and writing. We find our power when we are able to speak our truth, and for this reason I have focused on the powerful and transformative Pluto. Its energy can help us reinvent ourselves and transform our lives. It reminds me of the power of words and how much we can achieve by absorbing knowledge and using it to better ourselves. What we say also has an impact on the people around us. Pluto is a tricky one for self-healing because it moves very slowly, so I personally connect with the Moon when it is in the sign of Scorpio for healing. More on this later!

Brow Chakra (Vision):

The Brow Chakra holds our beliefs, our thoughts, and our prejudices. These elements color the way we see the world. To heal our life, we can begin by healing our thoughts and transforming our outlook. One of my teachers used to tell us that as tarot readers, we facilitate healing by getting others to think about their lives differently. This is why I have paired the Brow Chakra with the Sun (it shed’s light on us) and with Chiron (The Wounded Healer). We can work with both of these energies to enhance our personal healing power, our sense of empathy and our ability to learn new tools. The placement of Chiron in our chart indicates the greatest potential for self-healing (see here for details).

Crown Chakra (Intuition): 

The Crown is responsible for our connection to the Divine, illuminating our lives. It’s also the point through which we receive healing energy from the universe, whether you keep that energy for yourself or share it with someone else through your heart and hands. The Moon is the Crown Chakra’s planetary counterpart, and we can work with its silvery energy to develop our intuition. The more we connect with the moon the more in touch we will be with our intuition and our higher self.
If you will notice, I haven’t included all of the planets in this list. Saturn could have been mentioned as one of the Root Chakra planets because its focus on reality, responsibility and timekeeping can be quite grounding – another function that the Root Chakra has in our energy system. Each of the inner planets has a specific day of the week when we are better placed to connect with its energy. Monday is the Moon's day, Tuesday is Mars, Wednesday is Mercury, Thursday is Jupiter, Friday is Venus, Saturday is Saturn and the Sun on Sunday. 


Regina Chouza is an Energy Healer, Angel Medium and author of A Personal Guide to Self-Healing, Cancer & Love and Chakra Healing & Magick. She studied angels, tarot and astrology at The College of Psychic Studies in London, and qualified as a Healer at the School of Intuition & Healing. Regina's passion is bringing joy and empowerment to healing pursuits.  


  1. Great post, very interesting! Thank you...

  2. Chakras have been described in several different ways, but all of these descriptions have one common characteristic. Whether it be from the Chinese medicinal point of view or the Hindu point of view these descriptions are all similar. It is the understanding of the experiences of people and the way that the human mind thinks and goes through different emotions.

    Ilchi Lee Books

    1. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. I have learned so much from you!